Home Programmes Social Defence Programmes
PDF Print
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Child Welfare Committees and Juvenile Justice Boards

Child Development | Related Resource | Faqs

The Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection of Children) Act, 2015, a Central Act, has come in to force with effect from 15.01.2016. Government of India have formulated Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection of Children) Model Rules, which have been notified in the Karnataka Gazette on 24.06.2017 and being 2016 and followed till Karnataka Rules are formulated.

 Child Welfare Committee:

As per the JJ Act, Child Welfare Committee consists of a Chairperson and four other members out of which one is a woman member and one member is an expert in child related issues for exercising the powers & discharging the duties in relation to child in need of care & protection. CWCs are constituted in all the 30 districts, In Bangalore Urban District there are 3CWCs, and 2 in Karwar district vide notification dated 26.09.2017 and 30.11.2017.

 Juvenile Justice Board:

As per the Act Juvenile Justice Board consists of three members. Chief Judicial Magistrate is the Chairperson of JJB in all the districts, except in Bangalore District where Chief Metropolitan Magistrate is the Chairperson. The other two members are social workers selected by State Selection Committee headed by Retired Judge of the High Court. JJB is constituted in all the 30 districts.

Vide Government Notification no MaMaEe 202, MaBaBa 2017 dated: 26.09.2017 and 30.11.2017.





Designed & Developed by FuGenX Technologies Pvt. Ltd. Website maintained by DWCD

HomeTendersSitemapContact UsLogin
View Stats